Standing naked in the wind (and dying well)

Posted on Updated on

On the anniversary of my father’s crossing, and at the heels of Sabine’s entrance to the star world, I have this to say: I’m dying.

I’m dying, and I’m at peace. It is a good day to die.

I’m dying, and it is beautiful.

I am dying, and I am asking you to honor me by learning to live, and preparing to die.

I am asking you to understand that these are the same things.

You’re dying, too. Everyone– everything dies. I don’t know when that will be for me or for you, but I know as surely as I breathe that the day will come when we both must move on. I mean it when I say that Death is my old friend. My good friend. Make Death your friend, too.

Sabine, standing naked in the wind and melting into the sun

The death of a life well lived is not reason for tears, but celebration!

So live your life well.

Ask yourself in every moment, could I cross over right now, peacefully and joyfully? If the answer is no, well then get to work! Don’t you see that your job here on this earth is to learn how to die? Live in beauty. Spread peace and light, and die in that same peace and light.

Let go of your pain. Let go of your fears. Grief needn’t consume us.

I know you hurt. I know you have lost loved ones. You have been invisible to people you care about. You have been overlooked, forgotten, taken advantage of, and used. I know. You’ve suffered abuse and neglect at the hands of people who were charged with protecting and caring for you. I know. You have lost the only ones who really knew, understood, accepted, and loved you. I know. I see you. I understand your pain. And I am telling you that this does not define you.

This is not who you are. Let it go. What defines you is what you make of yourself, and how you contribute to the world, within whatever context you are in. I am asking you to honor yourself and your loved ones by Being, really being who YOU ARE. Let go of the pain and take your power back.

Our loved ones live eternally in our hearts and beyond. Channel your grief into prayers and works towards the peace of all souls– including your own! Don’t tell me you are sorry for my loss. I appreciate the sentiment, but would find greater comfort in seeing you joyously honor our lost loved ones through bringing more peace, joy, kindness and love to our world and beyond.

An alter to honor and celebrate my father's memory

“My death will be the life of another– I swear that to you. And you watch, you come find me. Because I’ll be standing again in these grasses, and you’ll see me looking through the eyes of a fox, and taking the air with the eagle, and running in the tracks of the deer.” (from The Story of B by Daniel Quinn, page 188)

5 thoughts on “Standing naked in the wind (and dying well)

    Lynn Braz said:
    August 8, 2011 at 11:23 pm

    What a beautiful post. I recently lost my beloved shih-tzu Jersey and I have to admit I was, at first, consumed by grief. But to honor Jersey I became active in animal rescues in India and now Bali. And soon I hope to be of service to Indraloka. Thank you for the work you do.

    Like

    jen said:
    August 8, 2011 at 11:46 pm

    it is an honorable thing to search for and realize meaning in life, and therefore meaning in death.
    I strive for that.

    It was lovely to have known you Sabine.

    Like

    Amy Vegan-Decker said:
    August 9, 2011 at 2:34 am

    Beautiful and well put Indra, I try to live this 100%. I am joyful that Sabine has moved on to the next level. She will be missed.

    Like

    Hermance W. Lahiri said:
    October 4, 2011 at 3:08 pm

    Beautifully written and so much wisdom in this essay. Thank
    you Indra,

    Like

    R. Sylvia Tagert said:
    October 14, 2011 at 12:29 pm

    When we honor our four legged friends we honor each other all that is Life. Thank you Indra for the inspirational essay.

    Like

Leave a Reply

