Swine Serenade…

Posted on Updated on

Bitter winter winds pushing them forward, the Humane Officers stepped gingerly around the corpses of ponies and chickens as they searched desperately for signs of life. Out of the corner of her eye, one of the officers saw movement. Was it the wind, or was there an animal hiding in that old cardboard box? She made her way closer and peeked in to find a terrified pig, too weak to scream or run.

In the barn, they found a second pig who was much less frightened.

The pigs, Magdalena and Anunzio, arrived at Indraloka Animal Sanctuary in early March, 2007. Having miraculously escaped their living nightmare, Magdie embraced us, immediately becoming the affectionate and playful pig that she is today. Nunzi took a different approach.

He screamed at the top of his lungs every time he saw a human. This means that every time we fed him, gave him fresh water, cleaned his stall, or did anything else in the barn, he screamed the entire time.

In case you do not know any pigs, their scream is actually a higher decibel than a jet engine. Quickly, we discovered that speaking to him, even in a soothing, soft tone of voice, only terrified him more.

Happily, he was never afraid of Magdie, so at least he had a companion. To this day they remain gentle, loving best friends to one another.

One day, I found myself singing in the barn as I worked (it happens sometimes, although it is not pretty, I admit). I realized at some point that Nunzi was not screaming. Slowly and silently, I poked my head into his stall– “What if something is wrong with him?” I worried.

As my head came into view, Nunzi resumed his deafening screams. “At least he is all right physically,” I thought, and went back to my barn work. As I resumed singing, his screams ceased.

When I stopped, the screams resumed!

So, I made it my habit to sing in Nunzi’s presence, and he stopped screaming when he saw me. This was a breakthrough. From there we began, very slowly, to work on building a friendship.

Blue moon, you saw me standing alone,

Without a love in my heart,

Without a pig of my own.

Blue moon,

You knew just what I was there for,

You heard me saying a prayer for,

Some pig I truly could care for.

Fast forward 9 months, to a sunny Sunday morning.

I went out to the paddock to see how Nunzi and his pig, horse, turkey, and rooster companions were enjoying the morning sun. Nunzi heard me talking to Sabine (a horse) from around the corner of the barn and…are you ready?…(drum roll, please…) Nunzi actually ran to greet me, grunting softly and contentedly as he nuzzled my hand. This was the first time I had ever interacted with Nunzi without either him screaming or me singing! His eyes twinkling, he practically said in English, “Well, and good morning to you too, sunshine. So nice to see you this morning.”

Nunzi doesn’t scream at humans anymore. And that makes all of the endless hours, backbreaking work, struggles to pay vet, feed, and hay bills, and everything else worthwhile.

7 thoughts on “Swine Serenade…

    R Sylvia Tagert said:
    January 17, 2012 at 10:45 pm

    What wonderful news – it is as if Nunzi is new – how impressive that the good work continues to be rewarded by those that are meant to prosper and benefit from it all!

    Like

    Hermance Lahiri said:
    January 18, 2012 at 1:16 am

    Wonderful story!

    Like

    Devika Singh said:
    January 18, 2012 at 10:02 am

    Lovely story and hope to see you this year in Munnar

    Like

    Bren McClain said:
    January 18, 2012 at 9:48 pm

    Heartwarming. Flat out heartwarming!

    Like

    juliepruitt said:
    January 25, 2012 at 3:34 am

    What an awesome story! Thanks for sharing.

    Like

    Lynn Braz said:
    September 11, 2012 at 8:24 pm

    This is so beautiful. Your writing brings me right into your world, making me reach for my earplugs just imagining Nunzi screaming at the top of his lungs. Now that I know Nunzi personally, I can attest to what a miracle he is because of your love and the heavenly home he’s found at Indraloka. Thank you, Indra.

    Like

    […] ago, when Nunzi first arrived at Indraloka, he screamed whenever a human was near. We discovered that singing eased his fear, so I made up a […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

